Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I have read this book and also seen this movie several times, but every time I read it or see it again it touches my heart in a new way…

I am just madly in love with these characters…who are so much in love with each other but there is no happily ever after in their destiny.. It is rightly said “Life isn’t fair”

For those of you, who haven’t read the book or seen the movie, this is story in short,

It has Hazel Grace and Augustus Waters who are deeply in love with each other…but at the same time are terminally ill they have no time left to live, but even in this agony they are living just the best part of their life. They both meet at support group for cancer patients and become friends almost instantly, Hazel gives a book “An Imperial Affliction” to Augustus to read, with promise to meet him when he finishes reading the book.

This book is actually left incomplete by the writer Peter Van Houston. Thus, keeping the curiosity of readers unsatisfied.

Now the lead pair (Hazel & Gus) of our story chase the writer, all the way from Indianapolis to Amsterdam, just to know the climax of this book.

This journey gives them moments of love, excitement, disappointment and lifetime memories it show’s the reader that life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away!

Every time I read the book I loved it more, but this while reading the book, I purposely noted some of the lines / paragraphs that touched my heart.

Sharing it here direct dil se…(hope it doesn’t violate any copyright) with all my readers… hope they encourage you to read this book.🙂❤

8eb37f20-26d3-0132-4ea7-0ebc4eccb42f

“True Love is born from hard times”

“In the darkest days, the Lord puts the best people into your life.”

“I want to minimize the number of deaths I am responsible for,” (on being vegeterian)

“Love is keeping the promise anyway.”

“What a slut time is. She screws everybody”

“All is as it should be, where there is hope, there is life”

“It’s a metaphor, see: You put the killing thing right between your teeth, but you don’t give it the power to do its killing.”(on putting unlit cigarette in mouth)

“Okay,” he said. “I gotta go to sleep. It’s almost one.”
“Okay,” I said.
“Okay,” he said.
I giggled and said, “Okay.” And then the line was quiet but not dead. I almost felt like he was there in my room with me, but in a way it was better, like I was not in my room and he was not in his, but instead we were together in some invisible and tenuous third space that could only be visited on the phone”
(Just the two of us)

“You realize that trying to keep your distance from me will not lessen my affection for you,” he said.”
“I guess?” I said.
“All efforts to save me from you will fail,” he said.”

“Do you know, what Dom Pérignon said after inventing champagne?”
“No?” I said.
“He called out to his fellow monks, ‘Come quickly: I am tasting the stars.”

“I believe humans have souls, and I believe in the conservation of souls.”

“I’m in love with you, and I’m not in the business of denying myself the simple pleasure of saying true things.”

“It would be a privilege to have my heart broken by you.”

“You have a choice in this world, I believe, about how to tell sad stories, and we made the funny choice.”

“The urge to make art or contemplate philosophy does not go away when you are sick. Those urges just become transfigured by illness.”

“I’m on a roller coaster that only goes up,” he said.
“And it is my privilege and my responsibility to ride all the way up with you,” I said.”

“Sometimes I dream that I’m writing a memoir. A memoir would be just the thing to keep me in the hearts and memories of my adoring public.”(This line reminds of Direct Dil Se, it is my memoir, when I am gone from this world)

“It’s hard as hell to hold on to your dignity when the risen sun is too bright in your losing eyes”

“You gave me a forever within the numbered days, and I’m grateful.”

“Gus, my love, I cannot tell you how thankful I am for our little infinity.”

“Without pain, we couldn’t know joy.”

“If you want rainbow, you have to deal with the rain.”

“Pain is like fabric: The stronger it is, the more it’s worth.”

“That’s the thing about pain it demands, to be felt.”

“Apparently the world is not a wish granting factory”

“Grief does not change you, Hazel. It reveals you.”

“My thoughts are stars I can’t fathom into constellations.”

“That’s why I like you Hazel, you are so busy being you that you have no idea, how utterly unprecedented you are.”

“I long to ride a bike, dance, whistle, look at world, feel young and know that I’m free.”

“You don’t get to choose if you get hurt in this world, but you do have some say in who hurts you. I like my choices. I hope she likes hers.”

“She didn’t want a million admirers but just one and she got it, may be she wasn’t loved widely, but she was loved deeply.”

“I fell in love the way you fall asleep: slowly and then all at once.”(my most favorite for the last one)